Our Community

Leveraging scientific expertise and resources through partnership

Project investigators Steve Krentz, Bob Gresswell, Kathy Chase and Chris Merkord respond to questions from technical committee members related to large rivers and streams research. Photo by USFWS.

Project investigators Steve Krentz, Bob Gresswell, Kathy Chase and Chris Merkord respond to questions from technical committee members related to large rivers and streams research. Photo by USFWS.

Since 2010, our steering and technical committee membership has grown to represent more than 30 agencies and organizations across state and international boundaries, committed to healthy ecosystems for current and future generations.


Work in the Plains and Prairie Pothole Landscape Conservation Cooperative is accomplished through a variety of partners from state, federal and nongovermental agencies and organizations. The Prairie Pothole, Prairie Habitat and Northern Great Plains Joint Ventures, numerous Missouri River conservation and management organizations, and more than 20 other conservation partners have served as founding members of this LCC.

We are leaders in the conservation community. But we are not just conservationists. We are also economists, social scientists and communicators. We come from federal and state governments, not-for-profit and private organizations, tribal groups, and pre-existing partnerships. We see beyond agency lines and authorities to identify what is in the best interest of our collective community, both within the LCC and outside of the LCC, to benefit natural resources and people.



Steering Committee

U.S. Federal Agencies

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Mountain Prairie Region, Steve Guertin
U.S. Geological Survey, Linda Leake
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Midwest Region, Tom Melius
Bureau of Indian Affairs – Midwest Region, Diane Rosen
Bureau of Indian Affairs – Great Plains Region, Bruce Loudermilk
National Park Service – Intermountain Region, Mary Gibson Scott
National Park Service – Midwest Region, Michael Reynolds
Bureau of Land Management, Marie Stewart
Bureau of Land Management, Theresa Hanley
Bureau of Land Management, Sandy Brooks
Bureau of Land Management, Barb Riveland
Bureau of Land Management, Don Simpson
Bureau of Land Management, Bob Means
Bureau of Land Management, Katherine Kitchell
Bureau of Reclamation, Michael J. Ryan
Bureau of Reclamation, Gary Davis
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 7, William W. Rice
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 8, Carol Rushin
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 8, Richard Clark
Natural Resources Conversation Service – Central, Thomas Christensen
Natural Resources Conversation Service – West, Diane Gelburd
U.S. Forest Service – Region 1, Jane Cottrell
U.S. Forest Service – Region 2, Rick Cable
Agricultural Research Service – Matt Sanderson
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Kayla Eckert-Uptmore
Department of Energy, Roxanne E. Purucker

State Agencies

Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Chuck Corell
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Ed Boggess
North Dakota Game and Fish Department, Terry Steinwand
South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Department, Jeff Vonk
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Joe Maurier
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Dave Risley

Non-governmental Organizations

World Wildlife Fund – Northern Great Plains, Mara Johnson
World Wildlife Fund – Northern Great Plains, Jeff Nelson
Izaak Walton League of America, Paul Lepisto
Ducks Unlimited – Canada, Mike Anderson
The Nature Conservancy, Peggy Ladner
The Nature Conservancy, David Shaw
Ducks Unlimited, Stephen Adair
Ducks Unlimited, Rick Warhurst
Ducks Unlimited, Canada


Northern Great Plains Joint Venture, Ken Sambor
Prairie Pothole Joint Venture, Casey Stemler
Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, Dave Duncan
Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, Deanna Dixon
Great Plains Fish Habitat Partnership, Maureen Gallagher
Missouri River Natural Resource Committee, Dave Fryda

Technical Committee

Bob Clark, Environment Canada
Randy Kreil, North Dakota Game and Fish
Sara Vacek, USFWS
Neal Chartier, USFWS (FWS – alt)
John Hendrickson, Mandan USDA Laboratory
Neal Niemuth, Northern Great Plains JV
Anne Gage, World Wildlife Fund
Sarah Olimb, World Wildlife Fund (alt)
Carmen Thomson, NPS Midwest Region
Kara Paintner, NPS Midwest Region (alt)
Audrey Barnhart, NPS – Fort Union (alt)
Johann Walker, Ducks Unlimited
David Wood, Bureau of Land Management
John Carlson, Bureau of Land Management
Tom Kirschenmann, SD Game Fish & Parks
David Howerter, Ducks Unlimited Canada
Steve Krentz, Great Plains Fish Habitat Partnership
Mike Larson, Minnesota DNR
Marissa Ahlering, The Nature Conservancy
Merideth Cornett, The Nature Conservancy (alt)
Paul Lepisto, Izaak Walton League
Dan Svingen, US Forest Service
Greg Delzer, USGS
Justin Gude, MT Fish Wildlife and Parks
Greg Hiemenz, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Wayne Nelson-Stastny, MRNRC
Doug Kluck, NOAA
Beatriz Prieto, Saskatchewan F&W
Larry Gigliotti, SD Coop Unit – USGS
Francios Blouin, Alberta
Li Zhe, Saskatchewan
Vince Evelsizer, Iowa DNR
Allen Schlag, NWS-NOAA


LCC Network Vision

Landscape Conservation Cooperatives are the forum for the conservation community to define, design, and deliver landscapes that can sustain natural and cultural resources at levels desired by society.

Our Objective

The fundamental objective of the Plains and Prairie Potholes LCC is to increase conservation delivery by reducing scientific uncertainty related to landscape level stressors which are important to our partnership. We will meet this fundamental objective by leveraging partner expertise to promote coordination, dissemination and development of applied science that will support landscape level conservation.

Our Partners