Our Community


Leveraging scientific expertise and resources through partnership

Project investigators Steve Krentz, Bob Gresswell, Kathy Chase and Chris Merkord respond to questions from technical committee members related to large rivers and streams research. Photo by USFWS.

Project investigators Steve Krentz, Bob Gresswell, Kathy Chase and Chris Merkord respond to questions from technical committee members related to large rivers and streams research. Photo by USFWS.

Since 2010, our steering and technical committee membership has grown to represent more than 30 agencies and organizations across state and international boundaries, committed to healthy ecosystems for current and future generations.

 

Work in the Plains and Prairie Pothole Landscape Conservation Cooperative is accomplished through a variety of partners from state, federal and nongovermental agencies and organizations. The Prairie Pothole, Prairie Habitat and Northern Great Plains Joint Ventures, numerous Missouri River conservation and management organizations, and more than 20 other conservation partners have served as founding members of this LCC.

We are leaders in the conservation community. But we are not just conservationists. We are also economists, social scientists and communicators. We come from federal and state governments, not-for-profit and private organizations, tribal groups, and pre-existing partnerships. We see beyond agency lines and authorities to identify what is in the best interest of our collective community, both within the LCC and outside of the LCC, to benefit natural resources and people.

 

 

Steering Committee


U.S. Federal Agencies

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Mountain Prairie Region, Steve Guertin
U.S. Geological Survey, Linda Leake
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – Midwest Region, Tom Melius
Bureau of Indian Affairs – Midwest Region, Diane Rosen
Bureau of Indian Affairs – Great Plains Region, Bruce Loudermilk
National Park Service – Intermountain Region, Mary Gibson Scott
National Park Service – Midwest Region, Michael Reynolds
Bureau of Land Management, Marie Stewart
Bureau of Land Management, Theresa Hanley
Bureau of Land Management, Sandy Brooks
Bureau of Land Management, Barb Riveland
Bureau of Land Management, Don Simpson
Bureau of Land Management, Bob Means
Bureau of Land Management, Katherine Kitchell
Bureau of Reclamation, Michael J. Ryan
Bureau of Reclamation, Gary Davis
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 7, William W. Rice
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 8, Carol Rushin
Environmental Protection Agency – Region 8, Richard Clark
Natural Resources Conversation Service – Central, Thomas Christensen
Natural Resources Conversation Service – West, Diane Gelburd
U.S. Forest Service – Region 1, Jane Cottrell
U.S. Forest Service – Region 2, Rick Cable
Agricultural Research Service – Northern Plains, Michael McGuire
Agricultural Research Service – Northern Plains, Olga Lee
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Kayla Eckert-Uptmore
Department of Energy, Roxanne E. Purucker

State Agencies

Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Chuck Corell
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Ed Boggess
North Dakota Game and Fish Department, Terry Steinwand
South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Department, Jeff Vonk
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Joe Maurier
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Dave Risley

Non-governmental Organizations

World Wildlife Fund – Northern Great Plains, Mara Johnson
World Wildlife Fund – Northern Great Plains, Jeff Nelson
Izaak Walton League of America, Paul Lepisto
Ducks Unlimited – Canada, Mike Anderson
The Nature Conservancy, Peggy Ladner
The Nature Conservancy, David Shaw
Ducks Unlimited, Stephen Adair
Ducks Unlimited, Rick Warhurst
Ducks Unlimited, Canada

Partnerships

Northern Great Plains Joint Venture, Ken Sambor
Prairie Pothole Joint Venture, Casey Stemler
Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, Dave Duncan
Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, Deanna Dixon
Great Plains Fish Habitat Partnership, Maureen Gallagher
Missouri River Natural Resource Committee, Dave Fryda

Technical Committee


U.S. Geological Survey, Max Post van der Burg  |  701-253-5574  |  maxpostvanderburg@usgs.gov
Prairie Pothole Joint Venture, Kevin Doherty  |  701-355-8528  |   Kevin_Doherty@fws.gov
North Dakota Game and Fish, Randy Kriel  |  701-328-6330  |  rkreil@nd.gov
USDA Laboratory
UWFWS, Sara Vacek  |  320-589-4973  |  Sara_Vacek@fws.gov
Northern Great Plains Joint Venture, Neal Niemuth  |  701-355-8542  |  Neal_Niemuth@fws.gov
World Wildlife Fund, Anne Schrag  |  406-582-0236 x105  |  Anne.Schrag@WWFUS.org
National Park Service, Carmen Thomson  |  402-661-1876  |  Carmen_thomson@nps.gov
National Park Service, Kara Paintner  |  605-341-2807  |  Kara_Paintner@nps.gov
Ducks Unlimited, Johann Walker  |  701-355-3597  |  jwalker@ducks.org
Bureau of Land Management, David Wood  |  406-896-5246  |  David_Wood@blm.gov
Bureau of Land Management, John Carlson   |  406-896-5024  |   John_Carlson@blm.gov
South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks, Tom Kirschenmann   |  605-773-4192  |   Tom.Kirschenmann@state.sd.us
Ducks Unlimited – Canada, David Howerter   |  204-467-3292   |  d_howerter@ducks.ca
Great Plains Fish Habitat Partnership, Steve Krentz   |  701-355-8547   |   Steven_krentz@fws.gov
Missouri River Natural Resources Committee, Wayne Nelson-Stastny   |  402-667-2884  |   wayne_nelsonstastny@fws.gov
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Mike Larson   |  218-999-7933  |   michael.larson@state.mn.us
The Nature Conservancy, Marissa Ahlering  |   701-777-4598  |   mahlering@tnc.org
Izaak Walton League, Paul Lepisto  |   605-224-1770  |   PLepisto@iwla.org
U.S. Forest Service, Dan Svingen  |   701-250-4443  |   dsvingen@fed.fs.us
U.S. Geological Survey, Jeff Stoner  |   651-379-2744  |   stoner@usgs.gov
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Justin Gude  |   406-444-3767  |   jgude@mt.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – National Weather Service, Allen Schlag  | 701-250-4495  | allen.schlag@noaa.gov